Welcome Anonymous !


 


Alpha Squad US TeamSpeak Viewer

AlphaSquad Dedicated Servers

General discussion about ARMA, the OFP successor.

AlphaSquad Dedicated Servers

Postby Robalo_AS » Fri Dec 29, 2006 8:25 pm

ArmA 3 Game Servers


ServerType: ArmA 3
HostName: [AS] AlphaSquad.net | SquadServer | ACRE2/ASRAI3
IP address: 207.182.138.242
port: 2302
password: w1a)

Image

SixUpdater preset
PlayWithSix preset

Teamspeak3 Servers

US: HostName: ts3.alphasquad.net
port: Default (9987)
password: 2cold


Download TS3 Client


These server regulations currently applying. Please follow these rules strictly when using the server.

1. Teamspeak voice communication mandatory.

Teamspeak voice communication software is mandatory on our servers.
Join our teamspeak server before you join the gameserver.
"Voice activation" not allowed - use the "press to talk" option from the teamspeak menus.
Microphone not strictly required, but you have to be able to listen.
And remember; dead people don't talk or lead. If you are dead, maintain radio silence until the mission is over.

2. Server setup limitations.
When Alpha Squad members are in the server, let them handle the server administration. Otherwise, use the voting system:
http://community.bistudio.com/wiki/Mult ... r_Commands

3. Language and behavior
Treat others as you like to be treated yourselves. Harsh language, yelling and shouting, lack of respect for other players and spam in the chat is not wanted nor tolerated. Vulgar language not tolerated (password: w1a) !

4. Gameplay
This server is here for the coop player that seek to play in a more serious way than go guns blazing in every compass direction from insertion. Then stay sharp at the radio and follow any weapon loadout orders/communication. Once you are in the game, stick to whatever plans/orders assigned to your team.
Players that do the opposite (run and gun, going solo when ordered to stay with the team, showing up with loud weapons when ordered to carry SD) must either change their behavior or find a different server to play coop on.
A lot of the missions and coop gamemodes on our server rely heavily on good teamwork. That's why we stress this point.

TK (teamkill) to penalize a player for any reason in the server must not be used by non-Alpha Squad personell. If there is an Alpha member in the server he will find smarter ways to square the situation for you.
In case you experience some sorts of problems with players in the server, contact any Alpha Squad full member (not recruits) seen in Teamspeak. DO NOT use TK to solve problems.
Kicking should only be used by Alpha Squad members, and only as a last resort; when everything else fails.


Failure to comply with the above regulations might qualify for ejection. Repeated failure will qualify for a permanent ban from the server and teamspeak. Cheaters will be banned instantly and forever.

Before you grab our join/edit password, make sure you have read/understood these regulations.
The password will be changed when it appears to us that people no longer are updated on these server regulations.

If you see missions that constantly crashes the server; please post the name of the mission in here and we will delete or edit the mission.

If the server crashes it will autostart again within seconds.


The following information is not considered required to read, but it would be great if you read through it.


Radio discipline, terminology and helpful hints.
With 30 men on Teamspeak - try to show some radio discipline. Basically the person talking most during a mission is the squad leader of that particular mission. To save valuable time for him (and your team as a whole) you can use some of the following:
Using in-game hotkeys to save valuable transmitting time for everyone.

Common transmitting terms and how to use them
It's also a good practice to use the radio terms break  when you want to talk and over  when you are done transmitting and waiting for an answer or out when no answer is needed. Also; it's great if you use your in-game name when transmitting because not everyone knows your in game name or recognizes your voice.

example:
Trader97 says: Trader Break to Leader over
Leader says: Trader go ahead over
Trader97 says: Permission to pull back to the river and go North for a better firing position over
Leader says: Copy that Trader - you are cleared to move. Just make sure you stay outta sight for that 2 man patrol to the east out

All though the communications seldom go as fluid and after the book as in that example - it is something worth striving for.
Last edited by Robalo_AS on Mon Jan 25, 2010 8:35 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Image
User avatar
Robalo_AS
--------------
--------------
 
Posts: 3078
Joined: Sat Nov 01, 2003 3:32 am
Location: Bucharest

Re: ArmA Demo Dedicated Server

Postby Buehgler_AS » Fri Jan 12, 2007 2:11 am

A new patch for the demo is out that claims to improve performance and clean up some features.

Can be downloaded at http://www.armaholic.com/page.php?id=576
Image
User avatar
Buehgler_AS
--------------
--------------
 
Posts: 2950
Joined: Fri Nov 28, 2003 6:53 pm

Re: ArmA Demo Dedicated Server

Postby Robalo_AS » Fri Jan 12, 2007 5:45 am

Thanks B, the server is already running it.
Image
User avatar
Robalo_AS
--------------
--------------
 
Posts: 3078
Joined: Sat Nov 01, 2003 3:32 am
Location: Bucharest

Re: ArmA Demo Dedicated Server

Postby silent_op_AS » Thu Jan 25, 2007 3:48 am

Robalo,
Could you please show me how you set up the config file for the dedicated server? Maybe via a simple copy paste.

I have the updated 5116 build demo and I have the ArmA: Dedicated Server  1.02.5103 Beta. I'm attempting to setup the Phoenix Soldiers' dedicated server to run the demo. Please help.


silent_op
<img src="http://alivemod.com/api/sig?id=76561198011368108" alt="Image">


"United, we stand. Divided, we play SP with Ghost AI, headset and a dead mic..."
silent_op_AS
--------------
--------------
 
Posts: 145
Joined: Mon Nov 29, 2004 12:57 am
Location: NYC

Re: ArmA Demo Dedicated Server

Postby Robalo_AS » Thu Jan 25, 2007 9:43 am

Code: Select all
passwordAdmin = "adminpass"; // password to protect admin access
password = "pass"; // password required to connect to server
hostname="AlphaSquad EU1 Demo";
motd[]=
{
"Visit AlphaSquad's homepage at http://alphasquad.net",
}; // Welcome message
motdInterval=1;
voteThreshold=0.33; // when one third agrees, this is enough to confirm a vote
reportingIP=""; // private server - no reporting
voteMissionPlayers=0;
checkfiles[]={"HWTL\dta\data3d.pbo","dta\data3d.pbo"}; //list of files to check for identity
kickduplicate=0; // do not allow duplicate id
equalModRequired=1; // require equal mod
maxPlayers=24;
MaxMsgSend = 256;
MinBandwidth = 1536000;
disableVoN=1;
class Missions {

   class Coop1 {
      template=m01cooperative.saralite;
      cadetMode=1;
      param1=0;        // setting param1 and param2 should work but it doesn't in the demo
      param2=0.22;
   };

};


Use the latest demo build to run this with the -server option. The standalone dedicated is for the full version only.
Last edited by Robalo_AS on Thu Jan 25, 2007 9:45 am, edited 1 time in total.
Image
User avatar
Robalo_AS
--------------
--------------
 
Posts: 3078
Joined: Sat Nov 01, 2003 3:32 am
Location: Bucharest

Re: ArmA Demo Dedicated Server

Postby silent_op_AS » Thu Jan 25, 2007 3:45 pm

Thank you Robalo  ;biggrin

I'll try this out as soon as I get home tonight.

silent_op
<img src="http://alivemod.com/api/sig?id=76561198011368108" alt="Image">


"United, we stand. Divided, we play SP with Ghost AI, headset and a dead mic..."
silent_op_AS
--------------
--------------
 
Posts: 145
Joined: Mon Nov 29, 2004 12:57 am
Location: NYC

Re: ArmA Demo Dedicated Server

Postby silent_op_AS » Mon Jan 29, 2007 7:00 pm

Robalo,
I'm sorry I keep asking you about this, but...

It still doesn't seem clear to me as to how I should run the updated demo as a dedicated server on the PXS server. I created a text file based on your previous post. I then saved it as "server.cfg" file. I placed the server.cfg file in PXS server's ArmA Demo root directory.

I then did the following to the PXS server:

- Started ArmA Demo
- Selected multiplayer
- Remote
- I entered the admin name and desired password

I could not find the server on the Multiplayer list from my own PC. What am I doing wrong or not doing at all, on the game server?

silent_op
<img src="http://alivemod.com/api/sig?id=76561198011368108" alt="Image">


"United, we stand. Divided, we play SP with Ghost AI, headset and a dead mic..."
silent_op_AS
--------------
--------------
 
Posts: 145
Joined: Mon Nov 29, 2004 12:57 am
Location: NYC

Re: ArmA Demo Dedicated Server

Postby Robalo_AS » Mon Jan 29, 2007 8:59 pm

Create a StartArmaServer.bat file in your Arma folder. Here's what I have in it:

Code: Select all
@echo off
:do
start "ARMADS" /abovenormal /wait ArmADemo.exe -server -config=dedi1.cfg
goto do


where dedi1.cfg is the config file (see my previous post)

Make a shortcut for this .bat file, maybe put it on your Startup folder or run it manually to start your server in dedicated mode. If the game crashes, it will restart itself automatically.

Have you read the Readme file ? :)

ArmADemo Build 5116 allows to play the demo as a dedicated server host. In order to use this executable as dedicated server you need to start it with commandline parameter

-server

See http://community.bistudio.com/wiki/Arme ... ted_Server

for more information about usage of ArmA Dedicated servers.

Image
User avatar
Robalo_AS
--------------
--------------
 
Posts: 3078
Joined: Sat Nov 01, 2003 3:32 am
Location: Bucharest

Re: ArmA Demo Dedicated Server

Postby silent_op_AS » Fri Feb 16, 2007 6:19 pm

Robalo_AS,
Thank you for all your help. The Demo Dedi works. I just have yet another question. What do I need to do to disable the timer?


silent_op
<img src="http://alivemod.com/api/sig?id=76561198011368108" alt="Image">


"United, we stand. Divided, we play SP with Ghost AI, headset and a dead mic..."
silent_op_AS
--------------
--------------
 
Posts: 145
Joined: Mon Nov 29, 2004 12:57 am
Location: NYC

Re: ArmA Demo Dedicated Server

Postby Robalo_AS » Fri Feb 16, 2007 8:13 pm

You can't do anything about it with the current version. Hopefully it will be fixed with future releases.
Image
User avatar
Robalo_AS
--------------
--------------
 
Posts: 3078
Joined: Sat Nov 01, 2003 3:32 am
Location: Bucharest

Re: ArmA Demo Dedicated Server

Postby silent_op_AS » Sat Feb 17, 2007 5:01 am

At least we'll al have full versions by then  ;63


silent_op
<img src="http://alivemod.com/api/sig?id=76561198011368108" alt="Image">


"United, we stand. Divided, we play SP with Ghost AI, headset and a dead mic..."
silent_op_AS
--------------
--------------
 
Posts: 145
Joined: Mon Nov 29, 2004 12:57 am
Location: NYC

Re: ArmA Dedicated Server (in testing in Europe)

Postby Robalo_AS » Wed Mar 07, 2007 8:43 pm

Updated top post as the server is no longer running the demo but the full version dedicated server software. Will be updated with more coop missions soon as there are plenty out there made by the community.
Image
User avatar
Robalo_AS
--------------
--------------
 
Posts: 3078
Joined: Sat Nov 01, 2003 3:32 am
Location: Bucharest

Re: ArmA Dedicated Server (in testing in Europe)

Postby West|HOR| » Mon Mar 12, 2007 7:28 pm

Is there anyway to choose the missions. Login as Admin or vote on the missions?
West|HOR|
 
Posts: 71
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2006 1:20 am

Re: ArmA Dedicated Server (in testing in Europe)

Postby West|HOR| » Tue Mar 13, 2007 2:07 pm

Thx - some of the mission are bad rigth now. lol
West|HOR|
 
Posts: 71
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2006 1:20 am

Re: ArmA Dedicated Server (in testing in Europe)

Postby Robalo_AS » Sat Mar 24, 2007 12:39 pm

I just found out about the persistent feature. Leave a mission with no players, the game will continue with only the AI trying to beat the mission. Then you come back later and join in progress and you can take it from there. If it's still running, of course. Missions can be designed with this in mind, making possible a permanent battlefield scenario with missions created on the fly, players grouping up and choosing their own mission depending on the squad they're in. It's actually doable, very cool.
Image
User avatar
Robalo_AS
--------------
--------------
 
Posts: 3078
Joined: Sat Nov 01, 2003 3:32 am
Location: Bucharest

Next

Return to ARMA :: Main Forum

  • View new posts
  • View unanswered posts
  • Who is online
  • In total there is 1 user online :: 0 registered, 0 hidden and 1 guest (based on users active over the past 3 minutes)
  • Most users ever online was 171 on Mon Jul 02, 2007 3:13 am
  • Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest
Presets
Main Style
Patterns
Accent Color
Apply